Hutton Roof and Newbiggin

Between the Lakes and the Dales

Hutton Roof Fell Race 2015

Location in GB
Fell Race
Country Fair
Past Events
Future Events
Local Producers
This site is provided and maintained by Hutton Roof Village Hall

30th Anniversary Race
SATURDAY MAY 23rd 2015
Hutton Roof Village Hall, LA6 2PG (GR SD 570786)
near Kirkby Lonsdale.


Please check back later for all the reports.

Lost property:If you have lost or found anything please get in touch and we will try to reunite the items with the owners.




The race starts with the eventual winners leading the pack.

A glorious summer's day greeted 244 senior and 129 junior fell runners to Hutton Roof Crags 30th Fell Race. This race was originated by Ian Rooke, Pete Bland and Dave Bayliss with the first offical race taking place in 1985 to support the building of the new Village Hall. The event, in conjunction with the fabulous County Fair – with its famous cakes – have supported the Village Hall ever since.
It was great to have Ian Rooke and Pete Bland at the event this year with “Rookey” presenting the senior prizes.

The lovely weather dried up the course well, with a few muddy areas remaining under the trees, making it the fastest race since 2009, when it was an inter-counties fixture.

Many past races were brought to mind by this year's results. The 2015 senior winner was Tom Addison (Helm Hill) in 47.11. Tom was the 2010 winner at the tender age of 20 (in 48:50) and second in 2012, but Rookey remembered his first attendance at the event as a babe in arms! Tom won the Sheepskin Warehouse Trophy.

In second place, winning the Will Ramsbotham Memorial Trophy, was last year's winner Darren Kay (Pudsey & Bramley) in 47.59. Darren was the winner in 2006 and came second in 2005 and 2008.

In 3rd place was Mark Addison (Helm Hill) in 49.17 another frequent competitor and Craig Roberts (Kendal) was 4th in 51:25. Craig also has a long history in the race, winning in 2008 and 2012. Craig is also the first winner of the William Ramsbotham Memorial Cup – coming second in 1994 and also in 96,97,2004 and 2010.

Ist V40 was Paul Nield (Bowland) 54:37, 2nd Philip Leybourne (Salford) 55:28, 3rd Mark Chippendale (Bowland) 55:47. 1st V50 was Andy Stavely (Burnden, 58:14), 1st V60 Paul Harlowe (Wharfedale,67:33), 1st V70 Graham Breeze (Wharfedale, 86:06).

The men's team race was won by Helm Hill (Tom Addison, Mark Addison and Sam Moon). The second team was Bowland (Paul Nield, Mark Chippendale and Chris Reade).

In the ladies race Victoria Wilkinson (Bingley Harriers & AC, 53:57) took the trophy, repeating last years success including coming 6th overall as last year. Vic also won in 2005 . Second was Jo Buckley (Calder Vale, 62:16), in third place, Kate Archer (Ilkley, 63:28).

1st lady V40 was Lynn Clough (Chorley, 64:13) who won the race in 2003. V50 winner was Dorothy Pelly (Ambleside, 70:55) and first V60 Wendy Dodds (76:42).

The ladies' team prize went to Burnden (Lesley Fisher, Anne Ferguson and Gwen Kinloch).

2014 Race
2013 Race

2012 Race
2011 Race

2010 Race

2009 Race

2008 Race


2005 onwards PHOTO PRINTS or Downloads AVAILABLE from 50p + P&P
Or order to collect at the fell race.

Kendal Athletic Club

Pete Bland Logo

129 junior runners competed in 6 age groups for boys and girls from age 6 to 17. This is our highest number of juniors since 2003 when it was a Junior Championship Race.

This year saw the introduction of a new course for the U18s covering part of the senior route and an encouraging increase in the entry over previous years. The juniors mainly come from all over Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire and many clubs send big teams, Ambleside having a 20 stong squad this year. Many juniors are becoming familiar names on the results sheet such as James and Harry Bowen, twins (Ambleside AC) who again came first and second in their race.

11 juniors from the parish competed this year, Toby Winnard, being the best placed, wins the Hutton Roof Cup.

U8 Boys 1st Freddie Dixon (Keithly & Craven), 2nd Frasier Lampkin (Keithly & Craven), 3rd Micali Walmsley (UA).
U8 Girls 1st Esme Walkingshaw (Eden), 2nd Isabella Benson (Dallam), 3rd Taylor Gooding (Notley Green School)
U10 Boys: 1st James Duffy (Calder Valley), 2nd Evan Allan (Helm Hill) 3rd Douglas Steggar-Staveley (Settle)
U10 Girls 1st Sophie Rylance (Ambleside), 2nd Bethan Saunders (Hoad Hill), 3rd Daisy Byron Keeler (UA)
U12 Boys 1st James Bowen (Ambleside), 2nd Harry Bowen (Ambleside), 3rd Sam Smith (Wharefedale)
U16 Boys 1st Joe Edmondon (Broughton), 2nd Alex Norton (Wirral), 3rd Owen Jones (Wirral)
U18 Boys 1st Christopher Richards (Helm Hill), 2nd Matthew Senior (Helm Hill), 3rd Jacob Steele (Dallam)
U18 Girls 1st Georgia Stevens (Helm Hill), 2nd Anne Ockenden (SROC).

Suitable for ‘novice’ and ‘expert’ fell runners alike.
Flagged route so no major navigation problems other than finding the start!
All content and images © Hutton Roof Village Hall 2006 - 2014 unless otherwise stated